Weekly Treasures – September 9

 

20160905_121848-1

Bingsoo, shaved milk, wicked snow. Perfect for the last hot days of summer.

Did you know how cute wombats are? Maybe you’re like me and you have a general understanding that wombats are a thing, but you don’t know just how cute they are. Let me tell you… they are adorable. Did you also know that you can have a wombat experience in Australia? I mean, I just think that’s a good enough reason to go to Australia.

“May it be infinite while it lasts.” Quoted in the comments on Elizabeth Gilbert’s post about her new relationship with her best friend, Rayya Elias: a Portuguese love poem by Vinicius de Moraes.

African violet granny square – just what I was looking for, literally. I found a similar image on Pinterest, with no pattern of course, and googled every variety of “flower granny square colorful” that I could think of. I finally found the pattern while looking for something else entirely. Thank you, search engine gods. Here is my version. I’m in love:

20160909_204826

Mahjong. Michael and I played mahjong for the first time this past weekend and we had such a great time. (And, if I do say so myself, we were naturals.) We’re currently shopping for our own set, which lead me down the rabbit hole of trying to find a vintage set. Many of the vintage sets I came across were from the 1920s and had English translations on them. Turns out, there was a huge mahjong craze in the US in the 1920s. This article is fascinating and discusses mahjong in Chinese American and Jewish American cultures, and the US at large. We’re still on the hunt for our perfect mahjong set. I’ll let you know when we find it.

Edited to add: I bought a mahjong set!

What were your treasures this week?

One thought on “Weekly Treasures – September 9

Leave a Reply

